The conference will feature many academic sessions on a variety of topics. The following sessions have been confirmed and many more are being planned.

Theme 1: Statistics in Agricultural Research

IP 1.1: Stochastic Models in Applied Research

Convener(s):
1. Kalyan Das
University of Calcutta, Kolkata
Email: kalyanstat@gmail.com; kdstat@caluniv.ac.in

2. Ricardas Zitikis
University of Western Ontario, Canada
Email: zitikis@stats.uwo.ca

Speakers :
IP1.1.1 Robust Inference for Generalized Partially Linear Mixed Models that Account for
Censored Responses and Missing Covariates - An Application to Arctic Data Analysis


Kalyan Das
University of Calcutta, Kolkata
Email: kalyanstat@gmail.com; kdstat@caluniv.ac.in

IP1.1.2 Some Stochastic Volatility Models and their Applications

Himadri Ghosh
Indian Agricultural Statistics Research Institute, New Delhi
Email: him_adri@iasri.res.in; hghosh@gmail.com

IP1.1.3 An Empirical Investigation of Time Delay Neural Networks and Linear Time Series
Models for Agricultural Price Forecasting


Girish K Jha
Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi
Email: girish.stat@gmail.com

IP1.1.4 Models for Forecasting Crop Yields, Pests and Diseases - IASRI Approaches

Ranjana Agrawal
Indian Agricultural Statistics Research Institute, New Delhi
Email: ranjana@iasri.res.in

IP 1.2: Statistical Issues in Gender Dynamics and Women Empowerment
Convener: Dhrijesh Kumar Tiwari
Central Statistics Office, Ministry of Statistics & Programme Implementation
R. K. Puram, New Delhi.
Email: dhrijesh@hotmail.com; dhrijesh@gmail.com

Speakers :
IP1.2.1 Making Policies and Programmes Work for Women: The Key Role Played by Data Gaps and Issues

Aasha Kapur Mehta
Indian Institute of Public Administration, New Delhi
Email: aashakapurmehta@gmail.com

IP1.2.2 Gender Analysis of Data Systems

Subhalakshmi Nandi
Women’s Economic Empowerment, UN Women South Asia Office, New Delhi
Email: subhalakshmi.nandi@unwomen.org

IP1.2.3 Assessing Women’s Empowerment in Diverse Farming Systems of Eastern India: Gender Equity Index

Usha Rani Ahuja
National Centre for Agricultural Economics and Policy Research, New Delhi
Email: usha@ncap.res.in

IP1.2.4 Data Requirement for Study of Women in Indian Agriculture

Sushila Kaul
Indian Agricultural Statistics Research Institute, New Delhi
Email: sushila@iasri.res.in

Theme 2: Emerging Issues in Basic Statistical Research

IP 2.1: Design and Analysis of Multifactor Experiments

Convener: Manohar Aggarwal
Department of Mathematical Sciences, University of Memphis, Memphis, USA
Email: maggarwl@memphis.edu

Speakers :
IP2.1.1 D-optimal Supersaturated Designs

Dibyen Majumdar
University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
Email: dibyen@las.uic.edu; dibyen@uic.edu

IP2.1.2 Partially Replicated Fractional Factorial Designs

Rita SahaRay
Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
Email: rita_saharay@yahoo.com, rita@isical.ac.in

IP2.1.3 Comparison of Designs for Generalized Linear Models under Model Misspecification

S Mukhopadhyay
Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
Email: siuli@math.iitb.ac.in; siulimukherjee@gmail.com

IP2.1.4 Optimal Supersaturated Designs

Ashish Das
Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai
Email: ashishdas.das@gmail.com

IP2.1.5 Efficient Three Level Screening Designs using Weighing Matrices

Manohar Aggarwal
Department of Mathematical Sciences, University of Memphis, USA
Email: maggarwl@memphis.edu

IP2.1.6 A Lower Bound to the Measure of Optimality for Main effect Plans in the Symmetric Factorial Experiments

Kashinath Chatterjee
Visva-Bharati University, Santiniketan
Email: kashinathchatterjee@gmail.com

IP2.1.7 Optimal Orthogonally Blocked Mixture Designs using F-squares

Poonam Singh
Department of Mathematical Statistics, University of Delhi, Delhi
Email: pbs_93@yahoo.co.in

IP2.1.8 Yam Growth Experiment and Above-ground Biomass as Possible Predictor

Ratan Dasgupta
Stat-Math Division, ISI, Kolkata
Email: ratandasgupta@gmail.com

IP 2.2: Advances in Sampling Techniques
Convener: Sat Gupta
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro,Greensboro, USA
Email: sngupta@uncg.edu

Speakers :
IP2.2.1 Adjustments of Design Weights through Calibration

Raghunath Arnab
Department of Statistics, University of Botswana, Botswana
Email: arnabr@mopipi.ub.bw

IP2.2.2 Efficient Use of Auxiliary Information

TJ Rao
CRRAO AIMSCS, UoH Campus, Hyderabad
Email: tjrao@hotmail.com

IP2.2.3 On Calibration Approach based Product Estimator

UC Sud
Indian Agricultural Statistics Research Institute, New Delhi
Email: ucsud@iasri.res.in

IP2.2.4 Privacy Protection of Respondents in Quantitative RRT Models

Samridhi Mehta
Department of Mathematics, University of Delhi, Delhi
Email: mehta.samridhi@gmail.com

IP2.2.5 Parameter Estimation for Quantitative and Binary Optional Unrelated-Question Randomized Response Model

Anna Tuck
University of North Carolina at Greensboro, USA
Email: avtuck@uncg.edu

IP2.2.6 Applications of Optimal Controlled Selection to Statistical Problems

Neeraj Tiwari
Department of Statistics, Kumaun University, SSJ Campus, Almora
Email: kumarn_amo@yahoo.com

IP2.2.7 On Prediction Approach for Estimation in Finite Survey Sampling

Sheela Misra
Lucknow University, Lucknow
Email: drsheelamisra@gmail.com

IP2.2.8 Estimation of Finite Population Mean in the Presence of Linear Trend – Some Recent Developments

J Subramani
Pondicherry University, Kalapet, Puducherry
Email: drjsubramani@yahoo.co.in

IP 2.3: Small area Estimation
Convener(s):
1. Ray Chambers
University of Wollongong WOLLONGONG NSW
Email: ray@uow.edu.au

2. Hukum Chandra
IASRI, New Delhi
Email: hchandra@iasri.res.in

Speakers :
IP2.3.1 Small Area Estimation by Shrinking both Means and Variances

Tapabrata Maiti
Michigan State University, USA
Email: maiti@stt.msu.edu

IP2.3.2 Sub State Estimates of Crop Yield in India

BB Singh
National Sample Survey Office, New Delhi
Email: drbbsingh@hotmail.com

2.3.3 Estimation of Crop Production at Smaller Geographical Level - An Application of Discriminant Function Analysis

BVS Sisodia
Department of Agricultural Statistics, ND University of Agriculture & Technology, Faizabad, U.P.
Email: bvssisodia@gmail.com

IP2.3.4 Small Area Prediction under Unit Level Model using Estimated Auxiliary Data

Hukum Chandra
Indian Agricultural Statistics Research Institute, New Delhi
Email: hchandra@iasri.res.in

IP 2.4: Biostatistics
Convener(s):
1. KV Palanichamy
Kendle Data and Technologies (Pvt) Ltd., Gandhinagar, India
Email: palanichamy.kattupalayam@kendle.com

2. Asha Seth Kapadia
School of Public Health,
The University of Texas, Health Science Center, Houston, Texas
Email: Asha.S.Kapadia@uth.tmc.edu

Speakers :
IP2.4.1 Decoding the Times Series Data of Vibrio Cholerae using Hidden Markov Models and
Regression Analyses using Bayesian Hierarchical Models


Jeyaseelan L
Department of Biostatistics, Christian Medical College Vellore, India
Email: ljey@hotmail.com

IP2.4.2 Theory of Runs with Application to Drought Prediction

Asha S Kapadia
School of Public Health, The University of Texas, Health Science Center, Houston, Texas
Email: Asha.S.Kapadia@uth.tmc.edu

IP2.4.3 Biostatistics Education for Meeting the Growing Demand for Data Analysts

KV Palanichamy
INC Research, Gandhinagar, Gujarat
Email: K.V.Palanichamy@INCResearch.com

IP2.4.4 HIV/AIDS Awareness among Adolescents in Rural Bareilly: A Probit Regression Analysis

Vineeta Singh
Dr. BR Ambedkar University, Agra
Email: vineeta20012002@yahoo.co.in

IP 2.5: Statistical Inference
Convener: Pranesh Kumar
University of Northern British Columbia,
Prince George, CANADA
Email: kumarp@unbc.ca

Speakers :
IP2.5.1 Measuring Financial Market Risk using Value-at-Risk: Some Statistical Issues

Pranesh Kumar
Department of Mathematics & Statistics, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC
V2N 4Z9, Canada
Email: kumarp@unbc.ca

IP2.5.2 Nonparametric Sequential Procedure for Partitioning a Set of Populations with Respect to a Standard or Control

Tumulesh Solanky
Department of Mathematics, University of New Orleans, New Orleans, LA 70148, USA
Email: tsolanky@uno.edu

IP2.5.3 Reliability Bounds Based on Signatures

Isha Dewan
Indian Statistical Institute, New Delhi
Email: ishadewan@gmail.com

IP2.5.4 Copula Based Aerial Image Registration

Faramarz Kashanchi
University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC V2N 4Z9, Canada
Email: faramarz.kashanchi@unbc.ca; pranesh.kumar@unbc.ca

Theme 3: Agricultural Informatics

IP 3.1: Statistics and Informatics in PVP
Convener(s):
1. RC Agrawal
Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmer's Rights Authority, New Delhi
Email: rg-ppvfra@nic.in; agrawal_rakesh_chandra@yahoo.com

2. S.K. Chakrabarty
Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi
Email: skchakra_sst@yahoo.com

IP3.1.1 Statistical Procedures for DUS Testing: Problems and Prospects

RC Agrawal
Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers’ Rights Authority, NASC Complex, New Delhi
Email: rg-ppvfra@nic.in, agrawal_rakesh_chandra@yahoo.com

IP3.1.2 Principles and Procedures of DUS Testing as per PPV&FR Act, 2001

Dipal Roy Choudhury
Protection of Plant Variety and Farmers’ Rights Authority, NASC Complex, New Delhi
Email: jr-ppvfra@nic.in

IP3.1.3 Sampling, Probability and Reject Numbers in DUS Testing: Researchable Issues

SK Chakrabarty
Division of Seed Science and Technology, IARI, New Delhi
Email: skchakra_sst@yahoo.com

IP3.1.4 PGR Informatics: Facilitating the Prior Art Search in Protection of Plant Varieties and Earmers’ Rights

Sunil Archak
National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources, New Delhi
Email: sarchak@nbpgr.ernet.in

IP 3.2: Knowledge Management in Agriculture
Convener: Ajit Maru
Global Forum on Agricultural Research, FAO, Rome
Email: ajit.maru@fao.org

Speakers :
IP 3.2.1

Ajit Maru
Global Forum on Agricultural Research, FAO, Rome
Email: ajit.maru@fao.org

IP3.2.2

Rinkin Gandhi
Digital Green, India
Email: rikin@digitalgreen.org

IP 3.2.3

KD Kokate
Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi
Email: kdkokate@icar.org.in

IP 3.2.4

Attaluri Srinivasacharyulu
APAARI, Bangkok
Email: attaluri@apaari.org

IP 3.2.5

Gerard Sylvester
FAO Regional Office for Asia and Pacific, Bangkok
Email: gerard.sylvester@fao.org

IP 3.2.6

Rameshwar Singh/Himanshu
DKMA, New Delhia
Email: himanshu@icar.org.in

IP 3.2.7

Sridhar Gutam
Central Institute of Subtropical Horticulture, Lucknow
Email: gutam2000@gmail.com

IP 3.2.8

Pradyut Modi
ICRISAT, Hyderabad
Email: pradyou.modi@cgiar.org

IP 3.2.9

Rantej Singh
Reuters Market Light, Thomson Reuters, India
Email: rantej.singh@thomsonreuters.com

IP 3.2.10

TV Prabhakar
IIT, Kanpur
Email: tvp@iitk.ac.in

IP 3.3: ICT for Reaching Stakeholders
Convener(s):
1. Ajay Gupta
Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Email: ajay.gupta@wmich.edu

2. Rajeev Agrawal
North Carolina Agricultural and Technical University, Greensboro, USA
Email: ragrawal@ncat.edu

Speakers :
IP3.3.1 Survey: Using ICT Best Practices to Reach Stakeholders in Developing Countries

Rajeev Agrawal
North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
Email: ragrawal@ncat.edu

IP3.3.2 Agricultural Value Chain Development through Mobile Phone based Information Delivery in India

Sapna A Narula
Department of Business Sustainability, Faculty of Policy and Planning, TERI University, New Delhi
Email: narulasapna@gmail.com

IP3.3.3 A Sustainable Approach for Agricultural Informatics Development in Uttar Pradesh

LR Yadav
NIC, Department of Electronics and Information Technology, Yojana Bhawan, Lucknow
Email: lr.yadav@nic.in

IP 3.3.4 How Effective are the Modern ICT to Reach the Farmers? - Models, Scope and Constraints

Surabhi Mittal
International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT), India Office, New Delhi
Email: s.mittal@cgiar.org; mittal_surabhi75@yahoo.com

IP 3.3.5 Digital Inclusion in India: Challenges and Opportunities

M. Moni
National Informatics Centre, Government of India, New Delhi
Email: moni@nic.in

IP 3.4: Advances in Statistical Computing
Convener: A. Dhandapani
NAARM, Hyderabad
Email: dhandapani.appavoo@gmail.com

Speakers :
IP3.4.1 Stochastic Models of Innovation Diffusion

Karmeshu
School of Computer and Systems Sciences and School of Computational and Integrative Sciences,
Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
Email: karmeshu@gmail.com

IP3.4.2 Statistical Computing for Equity Estimator and Logistic Regression Used in Market Research

Subrata Kumar Satpati
Hewlett Packard, Bangalore
Email: satpati@gmail.com

IP3.4.3 High Performance Analytics: Creating a Competitive Advantage

Amul Desai
SAS Institute (India) Pvt. Ltd., Mumbai
Email: Amul.Desai@sas.com

IP3.4.4 Paradigm Shift from Proprietary Scripting to Generic in Statistical Modeling

Biswajit Nayak
StatSoft India, Nehru Place, New Delhi
Email: biswajit@statsoftindia.com

Theme 4: Statistical and Computational Biology in Agriculture

IP 4.1: Statistical Genomics
Convener: S. Pyne
Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
Email: spyne@broadinstitute.org

Speakers :
IP4.1.1 Multivariate Omic Analysis: Incorporating the Metabolome

Saumyadipta Pyne
Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
Email: spyne@broadinstitute.org

IP4.1.2 Next Generation Genomics for Crop Improvement

Mukesh Jain
National Institute of Plant Genome Research (NIPGR), Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi
Email: mjain@nipgr.ac.in

IP4.1.3 Emerging Trends for Translational Cancer Research: A Multiple Disciplinary Approach

Amit Dutt
Tata Memorial Hospital, Mumbai
Email: adutt@actrec.gov.in

IP4.1.4 Towards Integrating MARS and GWS Modules in ISMU Pipeline for Using Modern Genomics Approaches in Crop Breeding

Abhishek Rathore
ICRISAT, Hyderabad
Email: a.rathore@cgiar.org

IP4.1.5 Application of Bioinformatics in Domestic Animal Improvement

James M Reecy
Iowa State University, 2255 Kildee Hall, Ames, IA, USA
Email: jreecy@iastate.edu

IP 4.2: Bioinformatics in Agriculture
Convener: Sridhar Sivasubbu
Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi, India
Email: sridhar@igib.in

Speakers :
IP4.2.1 Exploring Biomolecular Interaction: Text Mining to Molecular Dynamics

Saikat Chakrabarti
Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata
Email: saikat@iicb.res.in; saikat273@gmail.com

IP4.2.2 Computational Analysis of Plant Genomes: A Precursor for Functional Genomics

TR Sharma
National Research Centre on Plant Biotechnology, IARI, Pusa Campus, New Delhi
Email: trsharma@nrcpb.org

IP4.2.3 Genome and Transcriptome of a Wild Type Strain of Zebrafish

Sridhar Sivasubbu
Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology (IGIB-CSIR), Delhi
Email: sridhar@igib.in

IP4.2.4 National Agricultural Bioinformatics Grid

Anil Rai
IASRI, New Delhi
Email: anilrai@iasri.res.in

IP4.2.5

GPS Raghava
Institute of Microbial Technology, Chandigarh
Email: raghava@imtech.res.in

IP 4.3: Mathematical Biology
Convener: Jan Rychtar
The University of North Carolina, Greensboro, USA
Email: j_rychta@uncg.edu; mcroweuncg@gmail.com

Speakers :
IP4.3.1 How the Evolution of Altruism is Affected by Various Aging Structures

Caitlin Ross
University of North Carolina at Greensboro, USA
Email: cjkintz@uncg.edu

IP4.3.2 Optimal Strategies in Kleptoparasitic Interactions

David Sykes
University of North Carolina at Greensboro, USA
Email: dgsykes@uncg.edu

IP4.3.3 Behavioral Studies of P californicus and P boylii through Automated Video Processing

Thomas Parrish
University of North Carolina at Greensboro, USA
Email: tmparri2@uncg.edu

IP4.3.4 Applying Optional Unrelated-Question Randomized Response Models for Estimating Risky Sexual Behaviors

Tracy Spears Gill
University of North Carolina at Greensboro, USA
Email: tgspears@uncg.edu

IP 4.4: Advances in Statistical Genetics
Convener(s):
1. VK Bhatia
IASRI, New Delhi
Email: vkbhatia@iasri.res.in

2. A.R.Rao,
IASRI, New Delhi
Email: arrao@iasri.res.in

Speakers :
IP4.4.1 Association Mapping: Some Statistical Issues

Pushpendra Kumar Gupta
Department of Genetics and Plant Breeding, CCS University, Meerut
Email: pkgupta36@gmail.com

IP4.4.2 Genetic Evaluation of Aquaculture Species: Challenges and Opportunities

Shrinivas Jahageerdar
Genetics and Biotechnology Division, Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Mumbai
Email: jahageerdar@cife.edu.in, jahageerdar@rediffmail.com; jahageerdar@gmail.com

IP4.4.3 Identifying Gene Regulatory Networks from Gene Expression Data by Incorporating Biological Knowledge

J Sreekumar
Central Tuber Crops Research Institute, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
Email: sreekumarctcri@gmail.com

IP4.4.4 Bayesian Analytical Procedures in Quantitative Genetics

J Jayasankar
Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Kochi- 682 018, Kerala
Email: jjsankar@cmfri.org.in

Theme 5: Statistical and Economic Issues for Economic Upliftment of Rural Community

IP 5.1: Indicators of Socio-Economic Development
Convener: BK Sinha
Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
Email: Sinha_bikas@yahoo.com

Speakers :
IP5.1.1 Composition of Socio-Economic Indicators and the Problem of Completeness

Amitabh Kundu
Centre for the Study of Regional Development, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
Email: amit0304@mail.jnu.ac.in

IP5.1.2 The Mahatma Gandhi NREGS: Implementation and Effects

Abhiroop Mukhopadhyay
Indian Statistical Institute, New Delhi
Email: abhiroopm@gmail.com

IP5.1.3 Official Statistics for Indicators in Millennium Development Goals

AC Kulshreshtha
208E, MIG Flats, Rajouri Garden, New Delhi
Email: ackulshreshtha@yahoo.com

IP5.1.4 Statistical and Economic Issues Concerning the Rural Poor: Retrospect and Prospects

JS Tomar
Central Statistics Office, Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, New Delhi
Email: jeet.iasri@gmail.com

Theme 6: HRD in Agricultural Statistics and Informatics

IP 6.1 Human Resource Development in Agricultural Statistics and Informatics: Current Status and Challenges
Convener: V.K. Gupta
IASRI, New Delhi
Email: vkgupta_1751@yahoo.co.in; vkgupta@iasri.res.in

Speakers :
IP6.1.1 Pedagogical Issues in Statistics Education

C Devakumar
Education Planning and Development, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi
Email: cdevakumar@yahoo.com, adgepd@icar.org.in, adgepd1@gmail.com

IP 6.1.2 Policy Issues for HRD in Agricultural Statistics and Informatics

HS Gaur
Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi
Email: hsg_nema@iari.res.in

IP6.1.3 Talent Shortage Issues and Strategies for HRD in Agricultural Informatics

SD Samantaray
College of Technology, GB Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, Uttarakhand
Email: sdsray@gmail.com

IP6.1.4 Human Resource Development (HRD) in Agricultural Statistics: Current Status and Challenges

Prajneshu
Indian Agricultural Statistics Research Institute, New Delhi
Email: prajnesh@iasri.res.in, prajneshu@yahoo.com

IP6.1.5

SD Sharma
Dev Sanskriti Vishwavidyalaya, Gayatrikunj-Shantikunj, Haridwar,Uttarakhand
Email: sdsharmaus@gmail.com, vc@dsvv.ac.in, sdsharmaus@yahoo.com